The Chief’s Memorial Campership Fund was founded to honor the memory of Colba F. Gucker, known as “Chief,” who began Camp Lincoln for boys in 1920 and Camp Whippoorwill for girls in 1931.  Born in 1893, he grew up in Rochester, NY and served in World War I in the ambulance corps.  His long career as a teacher of physical education began at the Lincoln School, the experimental school of Teachers College of Columbia University.  His progressive philosophy continues to this day at the camps he started.
Shortly after his death in April 1973, a group of long-time camp staff members decided to raise money to make the Lincoln and Whippoorwill experience available to children who would otherwise be unable to afford a private summer camp experience.

Never in the wildest dreams of the founders of the Chief’s Fund was there the expectation that decades later hundreds of children would have spent summers at Lincoln or Whippoorwill having received financial assistance from the Fund.  Currently, as many as thirty children per summer are beneficiaries of this support.  The Fund draws all of its resources from the contributions of current and former staff, campers and their families.  Virtually all of the funds raised go directly toward camperships.

Jeffrey Altman
Arthur J. Amler
Elizabeth Johl Byrne
Amy Carlstrom
Richard Deitchman
James Frauenthal
David C. Furman, Jr.
Jonathan R. Greer
Bruce Hennessey
Margaret E. Johnson
Barbara Carroll Kay
Robert W. Livingston
Lisa Cohen Lowy
Robert A. Martin
Jonathan David Miller
Ruth Bergoffen Needleman
Jeremy H. Schneider
Ruth H. Silman
Theodore R. Sonneborn
Robin Weber
Yi-Lo Yu

Robert Newell Bliss 1915-1999
Frederick Fink 1912-1998
Stephen C. Frauenthal 1939-2015
Sally Moore Gall
John W. Graef, MD
Ann Klinger Hennessey 1934-2013
Jeffrey R. Jonathan 1957-2015
Maren Rosborough

Barry Needleman